The story

The seven wonders of the modern world

The New Seven Wonders of the World was an informal and recreational review of the original list of seven wonders. The selection was made worldwide by free internet votes and paid phone calls and was publicly presented on July 7, 2007 at the Luz Stadium in Lisbon, Portugal.

When you talk about seven Wonders of the World, it is common to relate to the famous list of Seven wonders of the ancient world, which brings together the most remarkable buildings of antiquity. This list, however, is no longer the only one attempting to enumerate the greatest achievements of humanity and / or nature.

The original list

Seven wonders of the ancient world

  • Pyramids of Giza
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Temple of Artemis
  • Zeus statue
  • Halicarnassus Mausoleum
  • Colossus of Rhodes

Great wall of China

The so-called Great Wall of China, or Great Wall, is an impressive structure of military architecture built during Imperial China.

Its different parts are distributed between the Yellow Sea (Northeast coast of China) and the Gobi Desert and Mongolia (to the Northwest).

The wall began to be erected around 220 BC by determination of the first Chinese emperor, Qin Shihuang (also Qin Shi Huangdi, Ch'in Che Huang Ti, Shih Huang-ti or Shi Huangdi or yet Tchi Huang-ti). Although the Qin Dynasty (or Ch'in) left no reports about the construction techniques he employed or the number of workers involved, it is known that the work took advantage of a series of fortifications built by previous kingdoms, the apparatus of the walls consisting of large blocks of stone, connected by Mortar made of clay. About three thousand kilometers long, its function was to contain the constant invasions of the peoples to the north.

If in the past its function was essentially defensive, it is now a symbol of China and a sought after tourist attraction.


Petra is an important archaeological enclave in Jordan, nestled in the basin between the mountains that form the eastern flank of Wadi Araba, the great valley that runs from the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba.

List of site sources >>>